2018 AGM & New Directors


On August 21, 2018, we held our 2018 Annual General Meeting at Miller Thomson LLP Calgary. We were also joined remotely by members and executives in Vancouver, Edmonton, Saskatoon, and Winnipeg.

Akash Bir was elected as the new president of FACL Western, and Jessie Gill has now officially stepped into the role of the Immediate Past President. George Wong was also voted in as the President-Elect, forming our three person executive team. The three person executive system ensures a smooth transition and efficient succession planning for our organization. 

We also elected a new slate of incumbent and new directors:


  • Akash Bir (President)
  • George Wong (President-Elect)
  • Jessie Gill (Past President)
  • Ron Lo
  • David Tam
  • Hansen Wong
  • Julie Kim
  • Victor Lee (new)
  • Holly Wong (new)
  • Justin Pon (new)


  • University of Calgary
    • Joshua Mamdani
    • John Jiang (new)
  • University of Alberta
    • Yang Wang
  • University of Saskatchewan
    • Krystin Wang
  • University of Manitoba
    • Ingrid Ruiz (new)

We want to recognize Yulin Shih, Douglas Lee, Jason Paw, and Steven Ngo for their dedication and service to FACL Western as they retire from their respective director positions. Steven Ngo will continue as an advisor to FACL Western and will serve on our strategic advisory committee.

Thank you for your continued interest and support, and we look forward to seeing you at our next event!


If you're interested in getting involved with FACL Western, please reach out to info@faclwestern.com.